The Zodiac Signs have Changed!


Astronomy Books

Vallyn Rowe-Porchia and Anne Wiltrakis

Have you heard the news?  NASA confirmed that the Zodiac Signs have changed! The Earth’s rotation changed, which caused all of the signs to change! This means you might have been an Aquarius, but now you’re a Capricorn. In 2019, they added the new sign, Ophiuchus.

Instead of the original 12 signs (Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces), there is now 13. The newest sign is called Ophiuchus. You’re an Ophiuchus if your birthday falls from November 29 to December 17th.

You might be asking, why did the zodiac signs change? The zodiac signs changed from earth’s rotation. The new dates for the signs are:

Capricorn: January 20-February 16
Aquarius: February 16- March 11
Pisces: March 11-April 18
Aries: April 18-May 13
Taurus: May 13-June 21
Gemini: June 21-July 20
Cancer: July 20- August 10
Leo: August 10-September 16
Libray: October 30-November 23
Scorpio: November 23- November 29
Ophiuchus: November 29-December 17
Sagittarius: December 17- January 20


We first interviewed Jun Shin, a 7th grader at West, about zodiac signs, and Jun says his new sign is Capricorn. Jun doesn’t think that the new zodiac sign is necessary either. Jun believes that his new zodiac sign affects people’s personalities. Jun quoted Youtube James Charles, “He was a Gemini and Gemini’s are very loud.”

Next, we interviewed Chloe Daniels, a 7th grader at West. She says she didn’t know about the new zodiac sign or she responded with “What’s NASA?” Her new zodiac sign is cancer and it means to take up the fight. She can name 9 out of the 13 zodiac signs.

Only some of the dates changed for the zodiac signs, so not everyone’s sign changed. Do you know if yours did?